The Stolen Chapters

The Stolen Chapters

Book - 2016
Average Rating:
4
4
Rate this:
Owen, Kiel, and Bethany confront secrets, stolen memories, and some very familiar faces in the second book in the New York Times bestselling series, Story Thieves -- which was called a "fast-paced, action-packed tale" by School Library Journal-- from the author of the Half Upon a Time trilogy.

Owen Conners's whole life changed the day he found out his classmate Bethany was half-fictional, and could take him into any book in the library. Which story would they jump into next? Another fantasy, like the Kiel Gnomenfoot, Magic Thief books? Maybe something with superheroes? Owen's up for anything except mysteries--those just have too many hidden clues, twists that make no sense, and an ending you never see coming.

Then Owen wakes up in a real-life mystery with a memory that's been erased and too many questions. How did Kiel Gnomenfoot lose all of his magic? Where is Bethany? And who's the annoying guy wearing the question mark mask and Sherlock Holmes hat, taunting Owen and Kiel that Bethany is in grave danger?

Bethany is trapped in a hidden room that's slowly filling with water, and she can't escape until her friends find her. But is she imprisoned by more than just chains and a locked door? What's she hiding from Owen and Kiel?

Maybe some mysteries just shouldn't be solved...

Please note: The black bars in the first nine chapters are intended.
Publisher: New York : Aladdin, ©2016.
ISBN: 9781481409230
9781481409223
Characteristics: 354 pages :,illustrations ;,22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

a
AlluraLyne
Sep 30, 2016

If you are contemplating reading this book and reading through the comments to see if you should - then the short answer is yes!!!

I loved this book (and the first one too)! I loved it and the author's writing style so much that I was tickled with the Acknowledgements. If the author can make the Acknowledgements page amazing imagine what he can do for the rest of the story!

Enjoy!!

v
violet_fox_350
Aug 25, 2016

I read the first book, (it was awesome!) but the second book is taking so loooooong.
tired of waiting. :(

h
HollyKelsch
Jul 19, 2016

I absolutely LOVED this book!
It referenced other great books and had much for readers to relate to. It had clever word play and great theories.
Fans of Harry Potter, Percy Jackson, and Fablehaven will positively love this book!
It is truly a must-read.

b
Bookarcher
Jun 20, 2016

This whole series is truly innovative, creative and magnificently awesome! It deserves the attention of all readers out there, knowing James Riley and his writing

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

h
HollyKelsch
Jul 19, 2016

HollyKelsch thinks this title is suitable for All Ages

b
Bookarcher
Jun 20, 2016

Bookarcher thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

b
black_jaguar_520
May 30, 2016

black_jaguar_520 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 9 and 12

r
red_hawk_195
Oct 28, 2015

red_hawk_195 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 8 and 12

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top