Book - 2006
Average Rating:
Rate this:
When your father is a man of expensive tastes and schemes but very little money, you soon learn to make do. So when Captain Fortune, a well-meaning but profligate ex-soldier in Regency England, tells his daughter Caroline that they are ruined, she automatically starts seeking employment as a governess. Her father, however, has far grander designs for Miss Fortune.
Caro is to become the companion of Mrs. Catling, the rich, fierce widow of her father's old colonel. As Mrs. Catling amuses herself by tormenting her relatives and servants, Caro resolves to make the best of the situation, and soon her beauty and intelligence attract the attentions of male admirers.
Surrounded by people with an alarming readiness to reveal each other's confidences, Caroline is exasperated to find herself implicated in their indiscretions. But will Miss Fortune be able to avoid losing her reputation without losing her head? And will she find at least one good man amongst the genteel set who will take her side, and, indeed, her fancy? "
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Press, 2006.
ISBN: 9780312362065
Characteristics: 378 p. ;,22 cm.

Related Resources


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

Dec 05, 2016

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen (felt like something she would have written) - a novel that is absorbing and entertaining while reflecting the lifestyles of the gentry of Regency England.

Sep 18, 2012

I own this book and will enjoy re-reading it from time to time. It's reminiscent of a Jane Austen novel. Enjoyable.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Related Authors


Subject Headings


Find it at Library

To Top