Lucy in the Sky

Lucy in the Sky

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
6
6
A diary by an unnamed drug addict from an upper middle-class neighborhood in Santa Monica documents the ruination of her life after experimenting with drugs and alcohol at a party, after which she rejects everything she once cared about.
Publisher: New York : Simon Pulse, 2012.
ISBN: 9781442451858
1442451858
Characteristics: 267 p. ;,18 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
t
TEENREVIEWBOARD
Apr 05, 2018

Lucy In The Sky by Anonymous was written in the tradition of Go Ask Alice, and I found it to be as riveting as Go Ask Alice. This book presented the drug and alcohol-filled journey of a troubled 16-year-old girl. Before the world of addiction overcame her life, the character was a joyous teenager who was close with her older brother and parents. Only when she fell into a new group of friends at a party did she make the wrong decision which was to smoke a blunt. Ever since then, things went downhill, and the character tried a new drug every week, inhibiting a false emotion of euphoria. Nothing was ever the same. I found so many meanings and lessons in this book and I truly connected with the character. Throughout the book, I sided and opposed with the protagonist and went with her on her dark journey. I would give this book a 4.5/5 stars, and recommend this book to readers 13 and older. @Ilovefood of the Teen Review Board at the Hamilton Public Library

a
anniethecat
Aug 19, 2015

This diary brought tears that's for sure. So real, because it was.

b
Bellarox
Jun 29, 2014

This book reminded me constantly of an Ellen Hopkins read. The slow downward spiral of this teenage girl in her real life diary just makes this book even more raw and devastating. It is a book everyone should read to learn from.

zay_nab22 Oct 23, 2012

This was a very good book, I absolutely loved it! If you have read the story "Go Ask Alice" and liked the story line, you will definately like "Lucy in the Sky"

I is a great read! It really shows how easily addiction starts and how it is hard to stop it. It shows how each drug affected the character. She had marijuana, hash, ecstacy, crystal meth, heroin, and alchohal. It shows how strong peer pressure is (like what Euclid13 wrote)

euclid13 Jul 03, 2012

GOOD BOOK. parents might want to read this as well to remember how strong peer pressure can be. You might also read, "Go Ask Alice", which is along the same lines.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability
l
LucyBamBam
Mar 13, 2015

LucyBamBam thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

m
maroon_moose_7
Jun 21, 2013

maroon_moose_7 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

ecrl Jan 17, 2013

ecrl thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

EuSei Oct 13, 2012

EuSei thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Mee2 Sep 05, 2012

Mee2 thinks this title is suitable for 18 years and over

Sarah Victoria Kaufmann thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 14 and 30

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at Library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top